ARC Review: Empress of All Seasons + moodboard | BLOG TOUR

Welcome to my stop for Empress of all Seasons PH blog tour hosted by The Royal Polar Bear and Bookable Reads! Thank you for having me!

*I received an advance reading copy from the publisher through Netgalley in exchange of an honest review.

Title: Empress of All Seasons

Author: Emiko Jean

ISBN: 9780544530942

Published: November 6th, 2018 by HMH Books for Young Readers

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult

SYNOPSIS

In a palace of illusions, nothing is what it seems.
Each generation, a competition is held to find the next empress of Honoku. The rules are simple. Survive the palace’s enchanted seasonal rooms. Conquer Winter, Spring, Summer, and Fall. Marry the prince. All are eligible to compete—all except yōkai, supernatural monsters and spirits whom the human emperor is determined to enslave and destroy.
Mari has spent a lifetime training to become empress. Winning should be easy. And it would be, if she weren’t hiding a dangerous secret. Mari is a yōkai with the ability to transform into a terrifying monster. If discovered, her life will be forfeit. As she struggles to keep her true identity hidden, Mari’s fate collides with that of Taro, the prince who has no desire to inherit the imperial throne, and Akira, a half-human, half-yōkai outcast.
Torn between duty and love, loyalty and betrayal, vengeance and forgiveness, the choices of Mari, Taro, and Akira will decide the fate of Honoku in this beautifully written, edge-of-your-seat YA fantasy.

REVIEW

Empress of All Seasons is a compelling Japanese-inspired light fantasy that will surely keep you on the edge of your seat. Emiko Jean wrote a very beautiful story with its interesting characters and a well-done world building. Set in Honoku, where a competition will be held to find the next empress of their empire. Everyone are suitable to compete except yokai, someone who has the ability to transform into a monster. To spice things up, we follow our main lead, Mari who is an Animal Wife (a kind of yokai) and will be participating in the competition. It is a great risk because if Mari’s identity is discovered, her life will come to an end.

First things first, let’s all scream together because this is an Asian-inspired book! I found myself smiling whenever I stumbled upon a Japanese word that is really familiar with me. Either because I learned it from school or I heard it being mentioned since I was a kid (great example: kimono, taiko, etc.). It also helped that there is a glossary at the end of the book. It is very rich in culture, too! We also got some interludes about the gods and goddesses lives which I highly enjoyed and I’m sure you will too!

The world of Honoku is utterly captivating and draws you into the story more! It’s detailed and helped us picture the world easily! Her writing style is simply beautiful so I also recommended it for a more younger readers.

As for the characters, I loved them all! Each characters have their own flaws and struggles which makes them realistic! They also shined in their own way! I looked up to Mari for being so strong, not just physically but also emotionally. She’s such a brave character yet fragile. I feel like a part of me is being represented in almost all the characters actually (now I’m getting emotional writing this). TOO MUCH LOVE.

“She was complete by herself.”

I’m deeply in awe with what Emiko Jean wants to convey through this story. I learned a lot of things from the book! You don’t need any validation from anyone, you just need YOU. You are beautiful in your own way and you are free to choose the road you will take. Accept who you really are first before anything else and the other things will come next smoothly.

I also want to mention the ending of the book. I’m not gonna say anymore to prevent any spoilers but the ending is woven through the morals of the story. AND I CAN’T FORGET IT.

This book is purely fantastic and everyone should definitely add this to their TBRs! Empress of All Seasons is a rare find stand-alone fantasy that will hook you up until its last bits.

All in all, I gave this book a 5 stars! I highly recommend if you want to read a light yet meaningful, action-pack, and enthralling Asian-fantasy! Perfect for fans of The Selection and The Hunger Games.

We’ve learned the truth about the world, and now we must speak it. Silence is the cousin of invisibility.

Ratings:


MOODBOARD:

And to wrap it all up, here’s a moodboard for you!

GET YOUR OWN COPY OF EMPRESS OF ALL SEASONS HERE: Indie Bound | Amazon | Book Depository | Barnes & Noble


BLOG TOUR SCHEDULE

November 12

Rafael of The Royal Polar Bear Reads

Carmel of Bookablereads

Jonathan of Wander with Jon

Erika of The Nocturnal Fey

Nikki of Take Me Away

November 13

November 14
November 15
November 16

November 17

Myrth of Cliste Bella

Justine of Bookish Wisps

Athena of The Night Faerie

Ramnele of Bookdragonism


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

When Emiko is not writing, she is reading. Most of her friends are imaginary. Before she became a writer she was an entomologist (fancy name for bug catcher), a candle maker, a florist, and most recently a teacher. She lives in Washington with her husband and children (unruly twins). She loves the rain.

QUICK FACTS

Name: Emiko, Emi, Emmers Bemmers Boo Boo (only my mother calls me this)

Occupation: Writer and reader, most days reader before writer

Location: Vancouver, WA

Family: Yes. One husband. Two children – b/g twins!

Previous Occupations: Bug tamer, teacher, florist, candlestick maker and vagabond. My friends and I once (poorly) fixed up an old van. We drove it across the country. The bumper fell off and we lost the brakes in the Redwoods.

Qualifications: None. But I strongly believe in “fake it till you make it” and asking for forgiveness rather than permission.

Favorite foods: ALL OF THEM. Though I do have a special place in my heart for girl scout cookies, frosted animal cookies and anything with pasta.

Favorite time of year: Fall. I also love Christmastime (even though I’m Jewish).

Favorite music: Depends on mood and activity. For writing: Mumford and Sons, The Strumbellas, The Head and the Heart, Queen, Bowie, Pink Floyd … For general work (building this website, creating graphic etc.): Anything hip-hop, specifically Macklemore and Ryan Lewis, Dyme Def, Atmosphere, Matisyahu …

Favorite authors: Too many to count.

Last concert: Jay-Z and Kanye West – Watch the Throne

Favorite television shows: Antiques Roadshow, Call the Midwife, anything BBC, anything real housewives (no judgement please)

Least favorite things: The word “moist” – I dare you to find it in one of my novels.

Unusual talents/facts: I am fantastic at finding four leaf clovers. I can also make three loops with my tongue. I’ve also won my fair share of Texas Hold’em tournaments.

Advertisements

7 thoughts on “ARC Review: Empress of All Seasons + moodboard | BLOG TOUR

  1. Wow you’re only 14! Haha hello Aki, fellow K-pop fan!

    This book seems just like the book I’d like to indulge when I wanna get away from the reality of this world.

    Seeing the word Yokai and knowing what it means brought a smile to my face too! Because I used to watch animes as well hehe.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Layna
    http://www.beautybeyondtwenty.com

    Like

      1. Hmm I have quite a lot! 😂

        But I don’t have any that I stan, I just basically like the songs 🤷🏻‍♀️ some of my faves would have to be IU, taeyeon, SHINee and infinite. I’ll add IZONE to the list now 😂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.